The decision to form the Southern Africa Development Community Organisation of Public Accounts Committees (SADCOPAC) was reached in May 2002 at the exploratory meeting which was held in Kimberly, South Africa by members from SADC Countries. SADCOPAC was officially launched in October 2003 at the Wanderers Hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa. The launch was attended by 11 member states of ‘SADC’ Countries namely Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Mozambique, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

An Interim Constitution was adopted at the launch of SADCOPAC and APAC was appointed as the Secretariat. Until at the next Annual General Meeting which was held in Tanzania in 2004 when it was decided that the Secretariat be moved from South Africa to the United Republic Tanzania.

Eight months after launch, the first Annual SADCOPAC Conference and Annual General Meeting (AGM) were held in Bagamoyo in Tanzania from 26th – 30th June 2004. Among other issues which took place was the ratification of Executive Committee and adoption of the Interim Constitution. At the Annual General Meeting which was held in Zanzibar on 9th – 12th May 2005 the following were elected as Office Bearers. South Africa as a Chairperson, Zambia as a Vice Chairperson and Tanzania as Secretary General.

The Current Constitution was adopted on 4th November, 2021 at an AGM held in Lilongwe, Malawi. It covers 4 Chapters & 18 Articles:

  • Chapter 1: (Articles 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 & 7 -Definitions, Name, Principles, Vision, Aim and Objectives, Non- Profit Organization, Legal Personality and Powers.
  • Chapter 2: (Articles 8, 9, 10, 11 & 12 – Membership, Membership Fees, Source of Income, Expenses of the Organization, Financial Records and Annual Reporting)
  • Chapter 3: (Articles 13, 14, 15 & 16 – Organs of SADCOPAC, Annual General Meeting (AGM), Governing Council (GC) and Secretariat.
  • Chapter 4: (Articles 17 & 18 – Language & Dissolution of SADCOPAC.






SADCOPAC is an autonomous and independent association of Public Accounts Committees from SADC states established to promote mutual support; foster the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and experiences; act as a recognized voice of Public Accounts Committees with SADC community; and promote accountability, good governance and transparency in the SADC states.



“SADCOPAC shall strive to distinguish itself as an organization empowering the Members of each Member State to effectively carry out their functions as oversight committee over public sector finances, as well as promoting good governance”

Furthermore, ‘SADCOPAC’ shall strive to work with Governments in SADC countries in meeting the peoples’ expectations of sound and accountable governance, through best practice, sharing of information and experiences, and to continuously facilitate the efficiency of spending by promoting sound management practices.



The SADCOPAC Secretariat is based at National Audit Office of Tanzania (NAOT) in Dar es Salaam and operates as the core support mechanism for the SADCOPAC activities. The Secretariat provides the day to day running of SADCOPAC, coordinates, organizes activities that promote the aim of SADCOPAC, strategic support as well as information management, communications and implements the decisions necessary for functioning of SADCOPAC in accordance with the plan of operation and the annual work plan approved by the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The SADCOPAC Secretariat performs a central project management role with overseeing SADCOPAC activities and funded projects. The SADCOPAC annual budget is also administered by the SADCOPAC Secretariat.